Problematical RFC 822 date-time value


The specified date-time value, while technically valid, is likely to cause interoperability issues.

The value specified must meet the Date and Time specifications as defined by RFC822, with the exception that the year SHOULD be expressed as four digits.



Change the date-time to contain a four digit year, no comments, and either US or numeric timezone indicators, all single spaced. Here are examples:

<pubDate>Wed, 02 Oct 2002 08:00:00 EST</pubDate>

<pubDate>Wed, 02 Oct 2002 13:00:00 GMT</pubDate>

<pubDate>Wed, 02 Oct 2002 15:00:00 +0200</pubDate>

For best results, conform to the recommendations in James Holderness' RFC822 date support survey.

Not clear? Disagree?

You might be able to find help in one of these fine resources.

Copyright © 2002-4 Mark Pilgrim and Sam Ruby